The Diomede Islands

August 17, 2015

The Diomede Islands, also known in Russia as Gvozdev Islands, consist of two rocky, tuya-like islands:

  • The Russian island of Big Diomede (part of Chukotka Autonomous Okrug), also known as Imaqliq, Inaliq, Nunarbuk or Ratmanov Island
  • The United States island of Little Diomede or, in its native language, Ignaluk (it is also known as Krusenstern Island, though this may also refer to other places)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *